Welcome to our new home!

Welcome to the new home of Whaling City Review! I am thrilled to have been asked by John Landry to coordinate the Whaling City Review LIVE poetry series. John has done a phenomenal job energizing those of us in the New Bedford area and beyond about poetry, literature, and writing, as well as bringing poets from across the globe to our fair city. With his guidance and advice, I hope to continue the series in the same spirit in which it was founded.

For those of you I haven’t met yet, here’s a little about me: I was born & raised in the New Bedford/Fairhaven area, and have lived here just about all of my life. I was the co-founder of the Baker Books Poetry series in 1995, which I co-hosted until my oldest daughter was born. I was a regular reader and host at various local venues in the early days of AHA!, and coordinated poetry events for the New Bedford Arts and Music festival in 1999.

I took courses at Bristol Community College and UMASS Dartmouth through the mid 90s-2000s, and (finally!) graduated with a BA in Individualized Studies from Goddard College in 2008. My focus at Goddard was on writing and Social Policy; my senior study project was the publication of “The Kids Ate My Homework: A Resource Guide for New Bedford Area Parents (and Others) Who Want to Go Back to School,” and an accompanying thesis, “Helping New Bedford Area Parents Get Post Secondary Education: A Review of Relevant Sociological Themes.” While at Goddard, I served on the Board as the Student Trustee, and was elected as a full member after graduation. The school and its progressive pedagogy are very close to my heart, and I’ll be returning to their low-residency MFA program next month to pursue a degree in Creative Writing with a focus on Poetry.

When I’m not coordinating poetry readings (or running back and forth to Vermont), I work as a grant writer for Child and Family Services, a large family service and community outreach agency based in New Bedford. I’m also a full-time mom of 2 little girls, who keep me inspired, grounded, & on my toes. I recently joined the editorial board of the Newport Review, and look forward to working with them to bring more opportunities for writing, poetry, and public readings in our area.

So… there are the basics. I’d love to hear your ideas on the series or the website; if you’ve got ideas for featured readers, special readings, or links you’d like to see on the page, please send them along! You can reach me through this site, at whalingcityreview@gmail.com, or you can find me on Facebook.

See you soon.

-Maggie Cleveland

One Response to “Welcome to our new home!”

  1. Steve Parr Says:

    I have met Maggie Cleveland and was very impressed with her love and dedication to the arts, especially writing and poetry. Mr. john Landry hit a home run in selecting Maggie to coordinate the Whaling City Review live poetry series. If you have time, go to Newport review and enjoy two of Maggie’s poems.

Leave a Reply

